+41 22 717 2840

The Opening of the EU Presidency

Valleta, Malta
11 January 2017

The Opening of the EU Presidency and the meeting of the College of Commisioners will both be on the 11th January 2017. For the first time since becoming an EU Member State in 2004, Malta will take over the Presidency as of January 1, 2017, for a six-month term that concludes June 30, 2017.

During its Presidency of the Council of the European Union, Malta will chair all Ministerial meetings in Brussels and Luxembourg, with the exception of the Meetings of the Foreign Affairs Council, which are chaired by the High Representative. Besides the formal meetings in Brussels, 15 informal meetings will be held in Malta during the six months of the presidency.

The Maltese Presidency’s strategic priorities revolve around migration, the single market, social inclusion and security, the European neighbourhood and an integrated Maritime policy.

For Media accreditation please click here


EUROVISION Special Events will offer the following facilities onsite:


  • HD/SD Standup position for Live programme inserts
  • HD/SD Playout
  • Connectivity to the Eurovision Global Network


Log in to view ratecard